Mon, 08/21/2017 - 04:32

Posted by H.G. Watson on December 13, 2016

Nominations are now open for the Press Freedom Award from the Canadian Committee for World Press Freedom.

According to the Award website, the “annual award goes to a journalist or media worker in Canadian print, digital or broadcasting who has made a significant contribution to freedom of expression, often by standing up to government or private interests that would thwart the reporting of events or stories of significant public interest, or by advancing press freedom through the subjects he or she reports on. Institutions that work towards the same objectives may also apply or be nominated.”

Past winners include Vice Canada reporter Ben Makuch, Mohamed Fahmy and Michelle Lang.

To learn more about the Press Freedom Award, visit the Canadian Committee for World Press Freedom website.


J-Source and ProjetJ are publications of the Canadian Journalism Project, a venture among post-secondary journalism schools and programs across Canada, led by Ryerson University, Université Laval and Carleton University and supported by a group of donors.