Fri, 07/21/2017 - 02:42

Posted by Chantal Braganza on March 04, 2015

On Wednesday, March 4, the Sidney Hillman Foundation announced winners and honourable mentions for its annual Canadian Hillman Prize. 

Toronto Star investigative journalists Kevin Donovan, Jayme Poisson, Emily Mathieu, Randy Risling and Canadaland's Jesse Brown were awarded the top prize for their extensive coverage of sexual assault issues across the country, from in-depth investigations on sexual assault policies on Canadian campuses to breaking the story of multiple sexual assault allegations against former CBC host Jian Ghomeshi.

"From May until December 2014, a team of journalists at the Star dug into a sensitive, explosive issue that led to what has been described as a 'national conversation; on the issue of sexual assault and harassment in Canada," the Foundation wrote in a release about the award.

Honourable mentions for the 2015 award included Kevin Rollasson of the Winnipeg Free Press for his reporting on the death of Brian Sinclair, an aboriginal man in need of health care at the Winnipeg Health Sciences Centre, and Kathy Tomlinson & Raj Ahluwalia of CBC's The National for their coverage of employer abuses of the Temporary Foreign Worker program.

Awards and honours for the prize, which has been running since 2011, will be celebrated in Toronto on March 12.


Related Articles: 

J-Source and ProjetJ are publications of the Canadian Journalism Project, a venture among post-secondary journalism schools and programs across Canada, led by Ryerson University, Université Laval and Carleton University and supported by a group of donors.