Fri, 08/18/2017 - 20:11

Posted by Ivor Shapiro on July 13, 2011

The Canadian Journalism Project’s websites, (English) and (French), are produced by a collaboration of post-secondary journalism schools and programs led by Ryerson University, Université Laval and Carleton University, and supported by a group of benefactors including publishers, labour organizations and others who believe in excellence in journalism and its strong and vital future.

Our goal is to promote national discussion about journalism as well as providing a source for news, research, commentary, advice and resources for industry professionals, scholars and students. Your comments, suggestions and offers of support are very welcome.

Publisher: Christopher Waddell (Carleton University School of Journalism)
Room 4302C, River Building, 1125 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 5B6
613.520.2600 ext 8495


Business Manager: D’Arcy Coulson
Carleton University
Room 1007, River Building, 1125 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 5B6
613.520.2600 ext 1225


Editor-in-Chief: Patricia W. Elliott

University of Regina
AH 105.18 3737 Wascana Pkwy, Regina, SK S4S 0A2

Managing Editor: H.G. (Hayley) Watson

Editorial Centre (Ryerson University School of Journalism):
Room RCC-141, 350 Victoria Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2K3
416.979.5000 ext 7433


Editor-in-Chief, J-Source Patricia W. Elliott, University of Regina
Rédactrice en chef, ProjetJ Hélène Roulot-Ganzmann
Associate Editor, J-Source H.G. (Hayley) Watson
Editor-at-Large Paul Benedetti, Western University
Ask a Mentor Editor Canadian Association of Journalists
Book Reviews Editor Dan Rowe, Humber College
Education Editors Gavin Adamson, Ryerson University; Tyler Nagel, SAIT Polytechnic
Ethics Editor, English Romayne Smith Fullerton, Western University
Field Notes Editor Julie McCann, Algonquin College
Community Journalism Editor Robert Washburn, Loyalist College
International Reporting Bureau Editor Heather Kelly, Humber College
Law Editor Thomas Rose, Wilfrid Laurier University
Photojournalism Editor Mark Taylor, University of Regina
Executive Video Editor Nicole Blanchett Neheli, Sheridan College
Researching Journalism Editors David Secko and Lisa Lynch, Concordia University
Work and Labour Editor Errol Salamon
Columnist – Ward’s Words Stephen Ward
Columnist – The Unknowable Country Sean Holman, Mount Royal University
Columnist – Education Matters Janice Tibbetts
Agricultural Journalism Mary Baxter, Robert Irwin, Don Stoneman, Better Farming Magazine
Covering Violence & Trauma Jane Hawkes and Ciff Lonsdale, Canadian Journalism Forum on Violence & Trauma
Freedom of Expression Grant Buckler, Canadian Journalists for Free Expression
The Future of News Ira Basen, CBC
Investigative Journalism Cecil Rosner, CBC
Contributing Editor Janice Neil, Ryerson University

Founding Editor:

Ivor Shapiro, Ryerson University

Editorial Committee:

H.G. Watson
Paul Benedetti
Colette Brin
Errol Salamon
Lisa Lynch
Julie McCann
David McKie
Nicole Blanchett Neheli
Thomas Rose
Hélène Roulot-Ganzmann
Dan Rowe
David Secko
Romayne Smith Fullerton
Mark Taylor
Robert Washburn

Our history:

J-Source was launched in the spring of 2007 by a collective of Canadian journalism schools and organizations led by the Canadian Journalism Foundation (chair: Thomas Kierans; executive director: Jody Jacobson), which was the project's principal funder and administrator until December, 2013. Initial development was made possible by grants from the Edward S. Rogers Sr. Graduate School for Advanced Communications at Ryerson University, the Canadian Media Research Consortium and the Ryerson Research Assistants Fund. Initial technical and administrative support by Joe Castaldo (School of Journalism, Ryerson Univrsity) and Ryerson's Digital Media Projects team under the leadership of Mark Huras. The founding Editorial Committee members were Paul Benedetti (Western University), Colette Brin (Université Laval), Marc-François Bernier (Université Ottawa), Mary Doyle (Western University), Patricia Elliott (University of Regina), Dean Jobb (University of King's College), Brian Gabrial (Concordia University), Abby Goodrum (Ryerson University), Linda Kay  (Concordia University), Mary McGuire (Carleton University), Bill Reynolds (Ryerson University) and Stephen Ward (University of British Columbia). 


Ivor Shapiro (Ryerson University, January 2007-December 2009)
Janice Neil (Ryerson University, January 2010-August 2013)
Bruce Gillespie (Wilfrid Laurier University, August 2013-April 2016)

J-Source and ProjetJ are publications of the Canadian Journalism Project, a venture among post-secondary journalism schools and programs across Canada, led by Ryerson University, Université Laval and Carleton University and supported by a group of donors.